MINUTES OF THE CAPITAL REGION FEMALE MINOR HOCKEY ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday, April 30, 2020 7:00 p.m.

Attendance: 48

Start time: 7:05

Chair: President, Ian Fleetwood

lan offered thanks to the local First Nations for allowing our association to play on their lands

Agenda – moved by Maegan Thompson and seconded by Wes Crealock – 35-0-0

- 2. Meeting etiquette Ian Fleetwood reviewed the rules for meeting etiquette
- 3. Voting Ian Fleetwood explained the process for online voting on motions and for elections
- 4. Special General Meeting Minutes meeting was held to elect a director and the minutes were circulated to the membership for information on April 29, 2020
- 5. 2019 AGM minutes distributed to the membership April 17, 2020 no questions from the floor moved by Kelly Chaplin/Reg Gladstone 43-0-0
- 6. 2019/20 CRFMHA Annual Report Ian thanked everyone for all their hard work. Glen Wagner thanked the board for their work no questions from the floor
- 7. Financial Statements Kelly Chaplin ended the year with about \$14,000 excess revenue over expenses we had a number of one-time expenses but were also fortunate to be involved in the Team Canada Rivalry Series game with the US, which allowed us to raise a significant amount
 - Expenses promotional video, jersey purchase, equipment purchase
 - Issues for this year summer development income since it's cancelled
 - We were not eligible for a gaming grant this year which put a real strain on our finances and required a great deal of league-wide fundraising, but we should be eligible next year and subsequent years

Question from Elise Gratton – why isn't there D&O insurance for 2020 – Ian Fleetwood: we had to buy our own before we were approved as a recognized association, but after we were approved that coverage is included in our BC Hockey insurance

Question from Elise Gratton – would having a higher balance in our bank account reduce bank fees? Kelly Chaplin: no, what would reduce fees is lower number of transactions, but that would mean taking credit cards instead of e-transfers, which would cost us an extra 3%

Moved to accept the financial statements – Maegan Thompson/Kristie Thomas – passed 42-1 abstain-0 opposed

8. Special Resolution – circulated 14 days prior to this meeting:

Be it resolved that the maximum number of Directors be increased from 15

non-Officer Directors (20 Directors in total) to 19 non-Officer Directors (24 Directors in total) by amending Bylaws 3.8 (f) and 3.9, respectively, as follows:

- delete "fifteen (15)" from Bylaw 3.8 (f) and substituting "twenty (20)" therefor; and
- delete "twenty (20)" from Bylaw 3.9 and substituting "twenty-four (24)" therefor.

Moved by Ian Fleetwood and seconded by Wes Crealock – 45-0-0

- 9. Election of Officers and Directors
 - a. Resignations and end of terms Ian Fleetwood acknowledged those Board members who had stepped down during the year and whose terms had ended and were not returning
 - b. Election
 - i. Review of Board commitment
 - ii. Review of rationale and procedure for term of office variations (the Vice-President Administration and the Treasurer will be elected for a 1 year term and it is anticipated that the Directors placed into the positions of Equipment Director, Director of Player Development, Director of Recreational Hockey, Director of Competitive Hockey and Director of Recruitment and Mentorship will serve a 1 year term in order to create a balanced vacancy rotation per bylaw 3.42)
 - iii. Review of nomination and voting procedure, including advance nominations
 - iv. Officers (4 positions available):
 - 1. President 2 year term nominations: Ian Fleetwood. Acclaimed
 - 2. Vice-President Operations 2 year term nominations: Maegan Thompson. Acclaimed
 - 3. Vice-President Administration 1 year term nominations: Wes Crealock. Acclaimed
 - 4. Treasurer 1 year term nominations: Kelly Chaplin. Acclaimed
 - v. Non-Officer Directors (14 positions available) nominations: Andre Wuest; Bruce Liebel; Bruce Tuck; Ken Jones; Sharon Lum; Steve Marsh; Glenn Wagner; Elise Gratton; Mike Dixon; Courtenay Jacklin; Rob Wishart; Melanie Murray; Cayleigh Ryalls; Jennie Tuttle; Veda Smith; Lexxi Smith. All candidates present on the meeting introduced themselves. 14 non-director officers elected: Andre Wuest; Bruce Liebel; Bruce Tuck; Ken Jones; Sharon Lum; Steve Marsh; Glenn Wagner; Elise Gratton; Courtenay Jacklin; Melanie Murray; Cayleigh Ryalls; Jennie Tuttle; Veda Smith; Lexxi Smith
- 10. New Business none.
- 11. Player Registration Draw Maegan Thompson a random number generator was used and the first parent in attendance on the list is Glenn Wagner, father of Avalon Cummins-Wagner, who will receive a free 2020-2021 registration
- 12. Motion to Adjourn moved by David Porter and seconded by Maegan Thompson. 8:13 p.m.